Not seeing the whole long text in a single card

Hi. I’m not sure this exists, although I tend to think it does, being so useful.
It surely does, I’m just a bit new to gingko.
I write too long texts in single cards (chapters, really), and I’d like to see only the first few lines when of each one in the tree. Is that possible?
Thanks

Hi there,

It would be possible to make a hack for this, but the idea of Gingko is to be able to move/edit/etc small chunks of your text easily. If you’re writing whole chapters in a single card, you’re not getting the full power of Gingko!

Note you can easily split cards at the cursor (Ctrl+K), and merge them again. Also, exporting your tree automatically merges all you “paragraph”-sized cards into a full chapter (or what have you).

Does that help somewhat?

Yes, it helps.
At least I know it’s not possible.
I’ll try to find a way to write in smaller pieces, somehow, although it’s a flow of narrative without parts.
Still, I think it might be useful to be able to see only some snippet or so, like a deck of cards, and be able to move them around and change order and see a lot of them at once, like a map. It would for me.

Thank you very much!

Hi All,

I ended up implementing this “Collapse to headings” feature. You can now press z to collapse all children to the heading and/or first few lines.

Let me know what you think!

Hi Adriano,

This is an interesting feature in terms of temporarily reducing the overall visual real estate, but I think it would be much more useful if you could browse through the collapsed cards in that state, and then expand the ones you want to work with, either by hitting ‘z’ again, or some other key.

In fact, my preference would be to be able to collapse and expand cards either as a a branch of the tree, or individually, as needed, with the ability to expand them in the same way. Just a thought. I don’t know how much work is involved here . . .

Michael

Thanks @Michael