How to exit without saving changes? (and restore a backup)

hi there. first up, i’m a newbie. so apologies if the answer to this question already exists somewhere. mind you, did a search among existing topics. couldn’t find it.

two simple (related) questions:

1. if i’ve made changes to a tree but then want to exit without saving any of them, how do i do this? currently when i exit it doesn’t seem to want to let me, without saving what has been done.

2. how do i restore a backup? this question has been asked before; there doesn’t seem to be a simple answer. (well, not one that i can follow.) i have the gingko_backup TXT file sitting on my computer, ready to be restored. is there an “import backup” feature somewhere?

thanks to anyone who can help with this / point me in the right direction.

cheers, paul

Hi Paul,

I am not sure what you mean in your question 1. Changes are saved every time you finish editing a card, either by pressing the green checkmark at bottom-right, or pressing Ctrl+Enter. So there’s no way to go back to a previous version of the tree (yet… the Desktop version does have this, though).

To restore a backup, you’ll have to email me the file. I haven’t automated it, as it’s something that so far has rarely been needed.

Does that help?

hi adriano,

re question 1: thanks for clarifying how to save changes e.g. by pressing ctrl+enter. but what i wanted to know is how we can exit WITHOUT saving any changes? in other words, how can i exit a tree (or card) i have done a bit of work on, without saving the changes i have made since opening it? if this can be done, it means i will then end up with the tree (or card) that existed before i started making additions/changes. now perhaps the system doesn’t work this way? fair enough if that’s the case … but would be great to know if it’s possible.

re restoring a backup (question 2), yes you have helped clarify this. if you decide to automate this feature at some point, that would be fantastic!